What is the time

What is the time?

Excuse me, Miss, what is the time?

What has happened to my heart?

It used to be mine.

How long has it been out of my possession?

For how long have I been his?

Oh dear, I don’t know…

When did it go?

Oh, Miss, you have been so kind!

Listening to me whine…

But please, tell me the time!

I’ve forgotten when,

what it meant

how it went.

I just stopped feeling it beat,

I didn’t give it to him to keep!

That time when it fell into his arms,

did it I sell?

For a nickel, a dime?

Oh, please, please, tell me the time!

Could it be lost?

In a shadow, in a box?

Or broken, scattered,

drowned, or battered?

I hope he’s guarding it well…

Someone I must tell!

Someone I must ask!

You there! With the mask…

Please, Miss, what is the time?

What has happened to my heart?

It’s no longer mine.

 

-C. Bauxa

Sorrento, Italy

9/4/2009

Leave a Reply

